Jimmy Godden - 007

The Save Dreamland Campaign was launched by Joyland Books in January 2003 and is now supported by several thousand people. This is the place to discuss all aspects of saving Margate's famous amusement park and its iconic , Grade II listed Scenic Railway, Britain's oldest roller coaster.

Moderators: dave771, porf, Sarah

Jimmy Godden - 007

Postby bosola » 08 Mar 2004, 13:15

I recall seeing a comedian a while ago who commented how dangerous it would be to have James Bond round for dinner, as every building he enters has a habit of exploding just after he leaves. I thought immediately of Mr Godden at the time......

I met the man a couple of times although only as a humble employee, as a student I worked the summer as a floorwalker in the Ramsgate arcade - not the tiddly new one but the great big one that - errrr - burned down :oops: . I heard at the time that it looked to be a professional job, and there was much musing over why anyone would target what was by then an empty shell. To be fair on godden it has to be said there has never been a shred of evidence linking him to this fire or any other (as far as I know), but that didn't stop the local wags declaring the event to have been an 'act of god....den' :lol:

Being a floorwalker in one of his arcades meant a 12 hour day, 10 until 10, although it was made clear to me by one of the managers that I would be expected to stay on (unpaid of course) until the arcade actually shut which could be any time up to midnight. Pay was 2.25 an hour, which even in the late 90's was p*ss poor. I recall that another worker there who was a bit 'slow' (if that's the right term these days) earned even less. I asked the arcade manager about this pay anomolie once, and was told 'he's lucky to have a job, who else would employ him' :(